Christianity

My Content Heart

As I grow in my walk with the Lord everyday, new things are revealed to me continually. One thing that I’ve been spending a lot of time digging deeper into lately is having a servant heart like the Proverbs 31 wife & mother. I’ve always desired to live that way but lately I’ve been really feeling the pull to live it out even louder.

I used to avoid cooking anything that I viewed as “complicated” and often opted for convenience meals or even eating out. I justified it by saying I just preferred to bake.

Every single day is a new chance for me to honour God by serving my family. One of the ways I can do this is through the healthy and delicious meals that I can make for them and that has really motivated me to work harder, challenge myself and learn new cooking techniques.

I’ve prayed a lot that God would continue to shape me into the woman He wants me to be & to bring me closer to Him. I’ve felt the pull even stronger to stop focusing so much on my own wants/desires and to put my family first – even in this area.

If I was still choosing to live in a way that placed my own wants, needs & desires before others then I wouldn’t have ever left my comfort bubble. I would have still been serving subpar, less healthy, meals to my family or buying takeout. What would be the point? It didn’t bring me joy or “serve me” in any way as I had become perfectly accustomed to those meals I used to make. You know what the world says about something that doesn’t serve you – it needs to go.

Wow, we have a smart and wonderful God that knows us so much better than we often give Him credit for. A God that knows that’s it’s actually so much better for us to not stick in our comfort zones of putting ourselves first but that serving others actually breaks down walls for us, brings us closer to Him, and helps us GROW.

Thankful for a God that gets me ❤️

Leave a comment