Christianity

Nothing Feels Better Than This

I’ve seen a trend all over the internet lately where people, especially women, are creating videos with the tagline “Nothing feels better than putting yourself first”. I decided to share my own version of that video by creating one with the tagline “Nothing feels better than serving your family”. I wanted to share a couple of thoughts about that.

Everywhere we turn, it seems so many people carry this “self-love” and “me, me, me!” attitude towards life. But as Christian women, our hearts should sing a different tune.

When we prioritize our relationship with God and put our families next in line – life takes on a deeper meaning. Then our hearts are filled with a sense of purpose and fulfillment that no amount of “self-love” can provide.

In a culture that’s all about indulgence, it’s important to remember that we’re called to stand apart from the world. We should desire to follow God’s plan for our lives – including serving our families with love, joy & dedication.

The more I’ve prayed for God’s will for my life, the more I’ve found myself drawn to be more like the Proverbs 31 wife & mother. She’s a total powerhouse. Rising early, managing her household with grace and wisdom, and earning the praise of her family. That’s the kind of woman I want to be.

I’ve come a long way from being a woman who put her own wants & goals first to becoming a woman changed by God. It hasn’t been an easy road to get here for me, with lots of bumps along the way, but I am so grateful that I am finally in a place that I’m able to be home full-time with my kids, enjoying them and teaching them, keeping our house clean & cooking delicious meals for my family.

I’m a work in progress, but I thank God for that progress everyday!

Having a servant’s heart can be a privilege and a joy when you have the right perspective. 🙂

Leave a comment